Question about Linatex bands | The Slingshot Community Forum

Question about Linatex bands

Discussion in 'Beginner Question Forum' started by Flockaduck, Sep 9, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Flockaduck

Flockaduck New Member

Hello all, I am a beginner and my current setup is a Scout with the red Linatex bands. My first two bandsets were flat latex but I'm trying this flat Linatex due to how much I've heard about the durability and longevity of the rubber material. I have a 7" resting band length and my question is this: as Linatex is known for it's massive stretchability, is 7" of band at resting position too short? Should I have cut them longer than 7"?

I'm new to Linatex. Thank you in advance for all the helpful advice.

- Nathan

• Thumbs Up Thumbs Up x 2
  2. wobblywill

wobblywill Well-Known Member

Depends on your draw length are you maxing it out ? What ammo you using ?.. think linatex Is Thick Compared To Latex so it should chuck some big ammo ,haven't used it in flat form before had a try of it in 6mm square bands and found i didn't need to max it out ,plenty to lob some big 14mm lead.

Sent from my SM-A310F using Tapatalk

3. honorary pie

honorary pie Veteran Member

7" will go to about 56" I think,, that's a pretty long draw, and it's really made for the heavy Betties. What kind of ammo are you shooting?

4. AdamvVS

AdamvVS Veteran Member

If your profile pick is that of your set up its looking pretty cool

• Thumbs Up Thumbs Up x 1
  5. Flockaduck

Flockaduck New Member

I'm using 5/8 flatbands. I have both 7/16 and 3/8 steel balls. I'm not maxing out the draw length - the Linatex is so thick I only draw to about my chin or a little shorter. I see lots of people drawing back to their ear but there's no way I can get these bands that far back.

6. Flockaduck

Flockaduck New Member

----------------------------------
    I'm shooting 3/8 and 7/16 steel balls.

7. Flockaduck

Flockaduck New Member

-----------------------------