Slingshot Design - Interview with Eric Au of Metro Grade Goods | The Slingshot Community Forum

Slingshot Design Interview with Eric Au of Metro Grade Goods

Discussion in 'Articles' started by Metropolicity, Jun 21, 2016.

By Metropolicity on Jun 21, 2016 at 11:43 AM
  1. Metropolicity

Metropolicity Veteran Member Vendor

For the SSC interview series, we asked Eric Au of Metro Grade Goods to share a little bit about slingshot design, and his process of making slingshots.

How long have you been in design, and what is your design background?
    I have been an Industrial Designer for almost a decade. My previous professional design and creative experience comes from a marketing and graphic design firm and freelance fashion/editorial photography. I hold a Bachelor’s of Fine Arts (in Ceramics and Photography) and Master’s Degree in Environmental Design (Industrial Design).

I’ve always had a shop space of some kind, and my craftsmanship ranges from experimentation in the shop to formal training on equipment.

What got you interested in designing slingshots?
    Slingshots were a by-product of my hobby of compound bow archery. As most would do, you would scour the internet for things to read and see about your hobby and I came across a few video on YouTube that showed a way to modify a wrist braced slingshot to shoot arrows. I was in love with this idea since the setup time for a quick arrow shooting session was complicated and laborious. I quickly made an arrow shooting slingshot from an inexpensive, commercially available slingshot and was bored quickly since I was used to the very fast flight of a carbon arrow leave the string of a compound.

The more I shot it, the more I reconsidered why I was shooting arrows when steel ball bearings were way easier to carry around and grab when I wanted to shoot. Thus, began the journey to find out how deep the rabbit went (and I am still not seeing the bottom).