I'm from United Kingdom | The Slingshot Community Forum

I'm from United Kingdom

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Timz62, Jan 10, 2021.

1. Timz62

Timz62 New Member

Hi all,
    I am new to this slingshot forum and have taken up a great interest in this area. My father has a catapult (that's what we call it, it's the same as a slingshot?) which he has not used it for many years. Sadly he died recently and now I have his catapult. It has a very old latex rubber tubing which was crumbling, stiff and flaky. Had to discard the tubing and would appreciate your advice on what tubing should I get as I would love to put my father's catapult to good use again.
    While I wait for your answers, I decided to order another catapult (a cheap one to start me off as no point in buying an expensive one as I am not an expert yet!). It is a OTT flat tapered rubber band. The dimensions as far as I measure them are: 19mm at the fork, 12mm at the pouch. The length of the band is approximately 210mm. The pouch size is 44mm long by 12mm wide. The fork spacing is 41mm. I have absolutely no idea of the "power" of this catapult but when I had a go, goodness me they're pretty fast! Will start practicing with beer cans as targets when the weather is warmer later this year.
    My father's catapult's dimensions are:
    Fork space: 64mm, Fork thickness: 6mm. Pouch size: 127mm x 30mm.
    See photos.

My "throw" from fork (at arm's length) to my cheek (you call this as anchor point?) is between 88-89cm. So what's the recommended tubing length and how to put them together would be of great help.

Thank you all, stay healthy and keep safe.

Tim

Attached Files:

• Thumbs Up Thumbs Up x 4
  2. Cruiser

Cruiser Veteran Member

Welcome from Houston

• Thumbs Up Thumbs Up x 1
  3. Emitto

Emitto Veteran Member

Welcome mate!

4. The preacher

The preacher Member

Welcome aboard!

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

5. Fidencio León Burgos

Fidencio León Burgos Veteran Member