Cold weather | The Slingshot Community Forum

Cold weather

Discussion in 'General Slingshot Talk' started by GrenWill, Jan 31, 2019.

By GrenWill on Jan 31, 2019 at 10:15 AM
  1. GrenWill

GrenWill New Member

I’m new to the sport, and to the community, so I have been slowly working my way through the pages trying to understand all the aspects of slingshot shooting. I noticed all the posts (mostly from the Canadian members) about cold weather bands.

I grew up in Maine (so am familiar with the cold) but currently live in Virginia so never really thought it would effect me. The current polar vortex has really shown me the variation frigid temps have of elasticity. I step outside for a few shots, and nail the first couple. Then I start to be a little off, so I try to correct. By the time I correct slightly, I am slightly off a little more, and so on. It really is frustrating.

I just hope this weather ends soon. I don’t want to invest in a whole new set of bands that will be unnecessary by the time they get here.

Comments

Discussion in 'General Slingshot Talk' started by GrenWill, Jan 31, 2019.

1. Bruce

Bruce Guest

It's easy for me in Winnipeg ..I don't shoot from November through February. :mad:

• Thumbs Up Thumbs Up x 1
    2. oldmiser

oldmiser Veteran Member

During the winter months November till April I shoot indoors..mainly bb's...
      so I still have the eye & hand cordnation in focus....lighter band set for the bb's...
      so I still keep shootin...akaOldmiser

• Thumbs Up Thumbs Up x 1
    3. Cap'n Joe

Cap'n Joe Guest

It doesn't get too cold here in Florida, but when it does I find that keeping my shooter in a warm inside pocket cures those fliers. Two shots max, then put it away to warm back up to body temp.

Rubber trees grow in the tropics. Just keep that in mind and you'll be fine.

• Agree Agree x 1
    4. GrenWill

GrenWill New Member