Checking in from Ontario Canada | The Slingshot Community Forum

Checking in from Ontario Canada

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Peter Ball, Jul 4, 2020.

1. Peter Ball

Peter Ball New Member

Glad I found this group. I’m totally new to slingshots (like I don’t have one yet) which is the reason I joined the group. I’m looking forward to learning since my back yard is over-run by rabbits.

• Thumbs Up Thumbs Up x 6
  2. Mi'kmaq Warrior

Mi'kmaq Warrior Veteran Member

Hey man, welcome from Nova Scotia. You'll learn lots here!

Just practice a lot before dispatching the bunnies because even pests deserve a quick death. I hunt using headshots only. It's the only humane way to hunt with a slingshot as they were designed to dispatch using blunt force...like being hit with a baseball bat.
    It takes quite a bit of practice to get that level of consistency so if you are in a hurry to get rid of the rabbits, it would probably be better to use an air rifle...just until you get dialed in with your first slingshot.

The trick to getting accurate and consistent with a slingshot is form, pouch release, and repetition...and the smaller the target the better...aim small, miss small.
    Start off knocking down cans, just to get an understanding of how everything works (also fun) and then move down to a head size target. I use plastic practice golf balls from walmart for hunting warmup...they are cheap and are just the right size. I actually practice on a 30mm spinner and even go down to as small as 12mm to hone in on precision.

You should also avoid the big box wire frame "wrist rocket" style Slingshots like the ones at Canadian Tire or Walmart. Get a basic flat band shooter...

I suggest making your own natural fork slingshot...it is fun, and creates an intimate connection between the maker and the slingshot...it might sound strange, but it's true...I'm most accurate with the slingshots I make for myself.